The bad old days

When I was on the dieting rollercoaster I used to avoid my nice clothes when I felt “fat”. I didn’t even try them on because I knew they wouldn’t fit me. Well, I didn’t know but I didn’t want to find out so it was easier to avoid them and stick to the large, shapeless, stretchy clothes I knew would fit me regardless of what size I considered myself to be. It didn’t make me feel any better dressing like this but it was more important to avoid feeling any worse.

Lately, in my post diet days, I have been avoiding a lot of the clothes in my wardrobe. I don’t trust this way of eating yet so I had gone back into the easy clothes thing, not checking, not testing myself so I suppose somewhere I was believing I was getting fatter and I didn’t need to see the evidence, even if acting like this wasn’t making me happy. But I decided to change that, step away from recycling the same 4 or 5 outfits, the safe clothes, and wear some of the things that I liked and just see whether they fit me.

I’ve noticed my body has changed shape over the past few years (lots of bits seem to have gone South!) but generally I am no different. I put on tops I haven’t worn for a couple of years and they fit, they do up, they look nice. I am wondering if I was continuing to punish myself for straying from the diet tightrope even though it was a choice I made? Or maybe I just don’t trust that it’s working properly…..yet?

Leave a comment